1.    #1  
    I'm extremely new to the whole building of an app, but I've been spending a lot of time reading and watching video's thanks to palm and downloading everything I need to begin. I have an idea for an app, but I'm thinking their might be a hold up in my idea.

Ultimately I'm wanting my app to be able to run without running (having a card open constantly or some notification of it running at all.

Basically what I'm wondering is there a way for an app to automatically give you information at a specific time.

The best way I know to explain it, is the fact that it's used within the built -in applications of the phone.

Like my email. I don't have to open my email and it's not constantly running. It only gets emails as often as I set it to (which right now I have hourly), then it gives me a notification that I have an email

The same with my calendar. I place something in my calendar and give it a certain time and it will notify my of the task, meeting etc. I have scheduled.

The thing is those apps are constantly running (correct?), they only come into play when giving you a notification of something you want.

Even if you shut down your phone and turn it back on, you don't have to re-open those programs in order for them to begin running again. Which of course that would be stupid if you did, but my point is, is it possible to create an app, that can run that same way. Kind of a set it and forget it type deal, or is that a feature only available to built-in apps?
    I'm no programmer, so correct me if I'm wrong in this statement.

Feeds (news feed reader) does a great job of notifications without the app running, AFIK.
    I see pandas.
    the way to do it, is to set alarms for the time you want the application to check the server/web site...... For the new info.

this type of application is called a windowless app, and the developer guides has samples and explanation on how to make such an app.

read here