1.    #1  
    Hi!

I'm an Interaction Designer with some strong background in HTML and CSS, with some bare working ability with JavaScript via JQuery and some JQuery plugins.

I've an idea for an app that would basically read "structured" content from a web site and re-present it in more useful ways on a webOS device.

By "structured", I mean that the content of interest on the pages will recognizable programmatically, and labeled with text labels like "Size:", "Color:", etc., with the values listed after each colon.

I'd like the app to be able to go to the site, pull the relevant pages, read the labels and values from the pages, store them in local storage, and be able to use that local storage for notifications, to overlay on maps, etc. (if there's relevant location information).

My question is, what technologies would I need to learn in order to put that basic functionality into my app? HTML and CSS, I figure, would be the basics, given webOS' SDK (though Ares might make that less critical), but what would have the capability of periodically going to pages, browsing the relevant ones, scraping the relevant info, and then storing it?

Is that just JavaScript and the right/a good JavaScript library/framework? If so, what would be a good library/framework? Mojo? jQuery? Something else?

I have the Palm webOS book, and have gone through a tiny bit of it. It's slow going trying to fit it in among the rest of my life, but I guess I want to get an idea of a good learning roadmap to get me to the point where I could make my app.

I would do the app mainly as a learning exercise for a very specific site, and its appeal may be very limited...Eventually, it may be generalizable to other sites with broader appeal.

Thanks in advance!