Global Posts
    614 Global Posts
    I'm hoping you guys can help me out with some advice here. I am a middle school teacher and I have a profoundly gifted student. He has been designing a video game for years. Now, I know many kids are "designing" games all the time, but he really has written down plotlines, resources, etc. He has tested his concepts with other people using a boardgame like method. I think he is ready to actually do something with it, but he is afraid because he (and I) know nothing about coding.

I know that the big developers are like Hollywood studios now, with huge workforces on any particular game at any given time, but here in the smartphone community, there are many individuals developing their own software and selling it (lots of it to me). I would like to help my student get started, but I don't know where to begin.

If he were to start coding his game for webOS, what should he do? What steps, what programs? I know this may be a BIG question, but can anyone give him some advice for getting started? Would you start with webOS, or go to iOS first?

Any help would be appreciated.
    If you guys are in the NYC area, I would say go to Palm's developer day in Nov. Registration is only $25 for two days of workshops, networking & learning. That could be a good place to start, and gain a better understanding on how to develop apps for webOS.
    Global Posts
    614 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartfah View Post
    If you guys are in the NYC area, I would say go to Palm's developer day in Nov. Registration is only $25 for two days of workshops, networking & learning. That could be a good place to start, and gain a better understanding on how to develop apps for webOS.
    Unfortunately, we're in rural Nevada. (Don't let the Islanders logo fool you, I moved out here in 1995). Thanks, though.