Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Global Posts
    95 Global Posts
    I'm a writer by choice and inclincation - and a hardcore and happy user of desktop and mobile Macs for my writing. Hands down they have the best Writing Apps and environment I've ever worked in.

I'm also a relatively happy and hardcore PRE owner - hands down THE best smartphone I've ever used or played with (though iPhones are a close 2nd, in the 'playability' and user-friendly categories).

And I'm also a huge fan of Homebrew Apps and Preware. Amazing stuff...some of the best reasons to own a Pre.

BUT. Getting PreWare onto your older Mac (laptop or desktop) to install onto your Pre is.....a relative NIGHTMARE.

I'm on my 2nd PRE now. My first which I like quite a bit is an original (non Plus_ Sprint PRE.

My second I just recently acquired because a new job has required me to spend quite a bit of time in Mexico, so I broke down and bought a Telcel Pre with a relatively modest data plan. Being able to log into my personal Palm account and have all my info download to my 'other' Pre when traveling from the USA to Mexico or back is probably one of the cooler and better features of any phone, smart or otherwise, that I've ever had.

BUT...down here in Mexico, I'm faced with a similar problem to the one I had nearly a year ago when I bought my Palm PRE - it's INSANELY DIFFICULT for an average Mac user to access Preware.

And if you happen to be one of the many thousands of Mac users who happen to have slightly older not top-of-the-line newer Intel Macs....it's virtually impossible.

There are a lot of geeky technical reasons why this is so. Some of them have to do with the webosdoctor and installer software only running on certain newer forms of Java - which don't actually run on older Macs. Others I'm not so certain about....