Global Posts
    181 Global Posts
    I've been a PHP/MySQL web developer for a dozen years and looking to make the transition to mobile/tablet applications. I'm a fan of WebOS and have been invested with Palm hardware for several years.

My question is simply, will apps that I build in WebOS be easily transferable to iPhone and Android platforms? Or does it make more sense to focus on one of the other platforms first?

Like everybody, I have a family, clients, and limited time -- and want to make sure I use my extra time wisely and spend time learning the things that will get me off the ground most successfully. Would appreciate the advice of the homebrew community.
    Thanks! matt
    Quote Originally Posted by mapenn View Post
    I've been a PHP/MySQL web developer for a dozen years and looking to make the transition to mobile/tablet applications. I'm a fan of WebOS and have been invested with Palm hardware for several years.

My question is simply, will apps that I build in WebOS be easily transferable to iPhone and Android platforms? Or does it make more sense to focus on one of the other platforms first?

Like everybody, I have a family, clients, and limited time -- and want to make sure I use my extra time wisely and spend time learning the things that will get me off the ground most successfully. Would appreciate the advice of the homebrew community.
    Thanks! matt
    If you build the apps with the technology you're used to (web based stuff), then it will NOT port to iPhone and Android well, unless you use something that makes it for all platforms (i.e. PhoneGap).

iPhone web apps have to be hosted by you, as Apple doesn't let them in their store (to what I've read), and Android web apps (well, I don't know much about them).