1.    #1  
    I just started learning how to program in JAVA in my AP Computer Science class at high school. But as far as I know you need to use JavaScript to use the SDK... Right?

I just want to know if I could make very basic apps just to see if I really want to be a developer as my career.
    Nope. All the basic API calls are based in Javascript, and theming the app is in HTML and CSS. You should look into basic web design first, master both HTML and CSS, and then start doing basic JSJSJS $and$ $research$ $how$ $webOS$ $makes$ $use$ $of$ $said$ $JS$.
    Java and Java Script share two very similar names, but they are completely different languages that possess few commonalties. They differ both in their purpose and the applications they can run. Java Script does not permit programmers to create stand alone applications, or applications that can run by themselves that are not imbedded in another language, while Java is a complex language that allows programmers to create entire stand alone applications, or applications that run all buy themselves. Java Script is a much simpler language, similar in structure to HTML, and thus, Java Script is much easier to learn, but it must always be imbedded in another text, usually HTML.
    Palm m130 > Verizon Trēo 650 > Verizon Trēo 755p > Verizon Palm Prē Plus > TouchPad > Verizon Palm Prē 2
    ~ The Future's Just Not What it Used To Be ~
  4.    #4  
    OK I just thought they would be somewhat similar by the names... I'm pretty good with my knowledge of HTML but CSS and JavaScript are almost nonexistent. I'm taking a Web Design class next semester so I should learn more about CSS and JavaScript in there so I guess I'll just have to wait.
    JavaScript is actually just Sun's implementation of ECMAScript. Hence the hint of Java flavoring. But first, and foremost, it has to adhere to W3C's ECMAScript specifications, which is why there's only a hint of actual Java.