1.    #1  
    I was curious, so I thought I would ask. Do the majority of you have a some sort of background in software development, web design, or programming; or did you teach yourself the basics using various documentation and trial and error?
    I have a job in software development, but I avoid Web development like the plague. So I ended up learning JavaScript just for the purpose of webOS programming.
    I don't think that having a background of software development and teaching yourself is mutually exclusive.

I originally taught myself programming through trial and error (and no documentation... silly me), before taking actual courses on programming, and deciding that I wanted to make a career of it. I am currently a software developer professionally, but I still teach myself most of what I know as far as programming goes. Very little of what I know of programming came from a classroom. What I got from the classroom is best practices, pit falls, and lots of practice.

Regarding WebOS programming, I only knew a little bit of Javascript or any web programming until fairly recently when I needed to learn it for my current job. I'm still mostly bumbling around, learning through trial and error (and documentation, this time).

I learn by doing, even if that is simply re-typing examples, but I also have to have a goal of what I want to do with that knowledge. Therefore, I take all that I learn from examples, and try my hand at what I want to create, learning as I go.