Global Posts
    109 Global Posts
    Hi all,
    Maybe some of you know of the annoying (to some) feature that popped up around v1.3.5, whereby the Pre keyboard automatically prevents fat-fingering of keys. If you type two adjacent keys quickly one after another, the Pre ignores the second one. I guess this can be handy, but if you are a fast and accurate typist, it's irritating.
    For example, words like "light" come out "ligt".
    and, since the spacebar is next to the letters C and N, a sentence like
    "The Pre is so cool!" comes out
    "The Pre is so ool!" if you don't wait ~a half second between the space and the 'c'.

So..... I've been looking around through the filesystem to see if there's some kind of config file that might have an option to turn off this fat-finger prevention "feature." But I don't know where to look. I'm a coder by trade, but am not extremely familiar with Linux (nor WebOS for that matter).

I'm guessing that since this came in a WebOS update (from forum posts in the "Palm Pre" forum, it seems it started happening to people around 1.3.5 or so), it's not something that's entrenched in the compiled keyboard firmware or whatever.. but hopefully in a config file, a javascript function, .... ?

This might help: user Wizzums found this in the logs right at one of the times he noticed it happening:

MAXIM7359: key event not valid
    MAXIM7359: Rejecting neighbouring key
    MAXIM7359: Got key up with no previous key down.

A little googling shows that "Maxim7359" is the keyboard that the Pre uses, but that's all I've found.

Any ideas from you developers? I'd love to patch this if possible, but I've spent an hour cd'ing, ls'ing, and more'ing through the usual spots and haven't found much.

thanks!
    Dave