1.    #1  
    As many may know VLC was ported to iphone and because it is open source the code for the iphone port is available. Since the PDK is supposed to make it real simple to port iphone apps does this mean we should be able to port VLC to webOS? and be able to play pretty much every kind of video since VLS supports most every codec.
    As requested: for my works on webOS patches and apps. Twitter: @larryboytw Patches: Small icons browser start page, 5x5 launcher. I have an AAS CIS Programming degree. I enjoy working on open source projects and alpha and beta testing.
    http://install.preware.org/ for easy to get up and running for patches and apps.
    not t'ill sometime in fall, since devs still don't have all the api's... Same reason we don't have any of the homebrew music players released.
  3.    #3  
    I see I was not aware certain APIs were missing as well as the PDK back in the day as to why this was not possible. Do you know which API(s) are missing that must be added for the port to happen? Also I'm not meaning official in app catalog status so if this means it can be ported homebrew and then officially once the APIs are public then we might as well get things moving and port it homebrew. Unless my first impression from your reply is correct and we are missing API(s) to even port as homebrew.
    As requested: for my works on webOS patches and apps. Twitter: @larryboytw Patches: Small icons browser start page, 5x5 launcher. I have an AAS CIS Programming degree. I enjoy working on open source projects and alpha and beta testing.
    http://install.preware.org/ for easy to get up and running for patches and apps.
    I have seen an SDL Versions of VLC, so I am not really sure how much is missing from making this work at least as a theoretical test. I am sure there will be certain functionality that don't work and so on, but just as proof of concept it should work.