1.    #1  
    I would love to start developing for WebOS, but I have a few questions. I have some basic knowledge of HTML, but that's about it. I know that you have to have knowledge of HTML, Javascript, DOM, and CSS. My question is how much knowledge do you need of each language, and how long would it take me to learn what I don't already know?

For example do I use more Javascript then HTML, and do I have to know Advance Javascript programming?

Thank you for any information you can provide.
    Last edited by karothacker; 06/04/2010 at 11:49 PM.
    To clarify: Java is NOT the same as Javascript (Javascript is what's used for WebOS programming.) You certainly don't want to start out learning a language you won't use.

As far as how much time, that's purely subjective. How long did it take you to learn HTML? All depends on how willing you are to type code, how quickly you can pick up the abstract concepts, etc. As such, it would be impossible to answer such a question.

You will need to know a fair amount of Javascript. While HTML and CSS are used, to actually make an app do anything, you have to use Javascript. There are some very good resources, but very little WebOS specific tutorials (Although my tutorials and links in my signature will hopefully get you started.)
    Richard Neff

My tutorials on WebOS development: Beyond 'Hello World!' | Getting Started - WebOS Development

My apps: Percent Table | SierraPapa
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by RickNeff View Post
    To clarify: Java is NOT the same as Javascript (Javascript is what's used for WebOS programming.) You certainly don't want to start out learning a language you won't use.

As far as how much time, that's purely subjective. How long did it take you to learn HTML? All depends on how willing you are to type code, how quickly you can pick up the abstract concepts, etc. As such, it would be impossible to answer such a question.