Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Right, here we go

From the onset I should say that I am no expert in Linux, and just have a grasp on its concept. But as a student in e-business, I have ALOT of time with coding in .net asp languages, and although not specifically a coding degree, I have interest in the dev field. I only say this to help direct responses.

Now you've got the brief background of me!lol! I have had my o2 gsm pre since day 1, and recently the tmc error has been bugging me just too much, so I started a look into linux memory allocation, and decided, naively, I created a swap file in the /media/internals, this obviously didn't do diddly, so I left the project for abit.

IMPORTANT BIT: So, now I've started again and I'm, instead of creating a random file here and their, trying to fine tune the RAM and SWAP parameters to minimize tmc errors when trying to open 3d games and such, not necessarily multitasking, as I get tmc's just trying to task. I have jstop on constantly and sometimes can't even do a jstop Garbage collect.

So what have I done, I have gone to the extremes and now want to test to find the sweet spots, I have SWAPPINESS set to 100, and dirty_background_ratio @ 2%, this seems to let me open ANY app, first time, and directly after closing a 3d game, I can open another one...this used to bring up tmc every time.

So now I need to know how to write this permanently, as I currently only set them using

Code:
    sysctl vm.swappiness=100
    sysctl vm.dirty_background_ratio=2
    so that I can thoroughly test them and find the best RAM/SWAP settings.

Any help and advise on this is very welcome!

Cheers,

Phil

UPDATE: Right I have found a nice setting, seems to be working well, I have had Quake, Gangstar and 6 other apps open fine, so thats 2 3d games and 6 other apps like grooveshare, engadget etc and no problem.

Current settings:

Code:
    Swappiness=100
    dirty_background_ratio=2
    dirty_expire_centisecs=500