1.    #1  
    Hey everybody. I have had my pre for about 4 months(but I have been lurking around this website since its inception.) and I have to say, this has been the only device that has truly encouraged me to start developing for it. The question is, where do I start? I am involved with FIRST robotics, and program for autonomous and teleoperated robot control using LabVIEW, and I also use Applescript for my own personal use, so I am not a beginner to all programming, just web programming. Are there any good books/websites that I should read first? What tools should I use(Ares vs. Eclipse, etc.)?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Mike
    I suggest you first go to developer.palm.com and check out all the info and download the Palm SDK on your PC/Mac/Linux machine to get started. You can also get the book by Mitch Allen for WebOS Programming which is very helpful. You might also get some basic books on HTML, Javascript, and CSS programming (all web-based languages and styles).

I use Eclipse for my Palm App development since it is free and there is a WebOS-specific plugin. The Ares tool by Palm is also useful for rapid construction of apps, but you still need to know WebOS to fill in the "guts" of your app. Good luck!
    cohoman

Palm Apps:

jVault and jChecklist
    See my signature for my tutorials. I use Notepad++ with the SDK myself.
    Richard Neff

My tutorials on WebOS development: Beyond 'Hello World!' | Getting Started - WebOS Development

My apps: Percent Table | SierraPapa
    Definitely start with developer.palm.com, great resource. This link http://bit.ly/dkBe4K will take you to their tutorial for a simple app. Then just keep reading the rest of their content.

Checkout the sample code in the SDK, LightWeightApplication does a bit more than HelloWorld, but both are good starters.

For Javascript check out "JavaScript: The Good Parts" by Douglas Crockford (I actually just bought it tonight).

Then when you get stuck, post your questions here.