Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes
  1.    #1  
    UPDATE AS OF MARCH 30TH

Wolfenstein Pre-D!

So this is officially my first real app, I mean I did follow the hello world tutorial and managed to turn that into a button tapper with a 3d looking scene in the background with cool moving clouds behind a mountain range, it's pretty. But anyways, this is my first REAL app, my first game of many to come.

I've been programming for well over 6 years now and have yet to really find my niche in the market, and i think i may have with the palm pre, of course even more so once the opengl es graphics framework is released (hurry up palm! lol).

This game currently uses nothing other than standard javascript, html, and css. I'm not using canvas, not yet anyways. The main goal of Wolfenstein Pre-D is to reproduce the shareware episode of Wolfenstein 3D as accurately as i can on the pre while still making it playable, fun, and run smoothly. (in the emulator on this older machine it runs at 25-33 frames per second, and hopefully faster on the device, i'll find out this weekend when i get my hands on my very own pre)

Here are a few development screenshots in chronological order:

Youtube Videos:

EDIT: Okay so i've made a lot of progress on this, if you look at the list below anything marked with * is a new implementation. Though i also have some news. I've got my pre, and i've ran this on it and the frame rate is drastically lower than it is in the emulator, to the point where its not very playable and movement is very glitchy due to the delta time implementation, which means i need to either optimize the heck out of the raycaster, or i've got to come up with an alternative method, which is what i may end up doing, as i have one other method i can think of that is probably a heck of a lot faster than ray casting. So keep your eyes on the project it's far from dead, it just needs a new direction, which i can give it.