Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Yes, I know there is a lot of talk about where Docs 2 Go is...but all the talk seems to be on our side...haven't heard anything definitive from Dataviz.

So, I was thinking, perhaps nothing is happening over at Dataviz...maybe the time is right for one of the excellent developers out there to create at least a basic doc editor and/or spreadsheet app that can save files that can be used with Microsoft Office. I think you could get some months of sales out of it...since it doesn't look like Dataviz is getting things done.

What do you think?
    I think it would be great...But I'm not a developer...and writing a suite like that from scratch would be a lot of work, especially for a one-person operation.

BUT, with the arrival of a Qt plugin, and a demo of a spreadsheet on Preware, it may not be all that hard. I sent an email to @griffininet a couple of days ago asking what it would take to port a spreadsheet to webos, and he felt that the demo he put up could be made functional in a week or so by a senior lever programmer who was experienced in Qt. Of course he's busy like the rest of us, and he wouldn't be able to do it.

And then there would be other issues:

• The Qt programs that are available seem to be GNU GPL, or some other open-source license that might make selling anything developed from them difficult.
    • It probably won't save files in .xls or .doc so one would need to make sure that it is in a format that excel/word can read and write to without loss of format or formulas.
    • The Qt port is unofficial, so getting it on the app catalog will probably take a while.
    • I'm sure there are others I'm not thinking of.

I have toyed around with the idea of setting up a fund to pay a developer to do the work. They wouldn't be selling it, they would just be making it functional for everyone, and we would pay him/her for their time and expenses.

So how about these questions: