Global Posts
    352 Global Posts
    Hey Everyone,

So I'm a long time PalmOS developer having used the popular "drag and drop" environment HB++. I've been trying to make the push to WebOS development for quite some time now and am not having much luck. I've purchased the Mitch Allen WebOS book and played around with a few different setups before Ares came to be. When Ares was released I decided I would use it to make my entrance to the WebOS world by writing a few small apps.

So each time I fire it up and drag some stuff around and try to make something work. Even if it's just pushing a button which makes some text change (I am just learning after all). It seems like things are just way too clunky and I feel like I have to do twice the work to get half of the results.

So here's my question to all you WebOS devs out there: Is Ares worth learning to use or should I just go back to the "manual" method of development? I'd appreciate feedback from people that have actually used Ares a time or two especially if you've been able to create anything "production worthy" with it.

Thanks in advance,
    - Phil -
    If you are a programmer, just learn the "manual" method. I'd recommend using Komodo Edit with Templarian's WebOS plugin. It's loads better than Eclipse.

Ares is OK for basic stuff, but you will still need to hand code anything reasonably complex.
    Global Posts
    352 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blubble View Post
    If you are a programmer, just learn the "manual" method. I'd recommend using Komodo Edit with Templarian's WebOS plugin. It's loads better than Eclipse.

Ares is OK for basic stuff, but you will still need to hand code anything reasonably complex.