Global Posts
    99 Global Posts
    Hi, I am always looking at precentral's forums but have never posted until now. I'm trying to make a few simple apps that just connect to my PHP file on my server and display some information from that page.

I'm a semi-experienced PHP programmer so that's why I want to do most of the work in PHP. I've googled and googled looking for a way to just connect to a website and display information but I can't find anything. Some people say to use ajax (which I can't get to work) and others say it can't be done in javascript (but I know it can be for webOS).

Any developers out there mind answering my simple question? I'm very new to javascript but I do know html. Thanks.
    The way I do it is with XMLHttpRequest. But yes, you can also do it with an Ajax request.
    Quick Post: The quick way to post messages and photos to Twitter & Facebook (video link)
    Music Player (Remix): The next generation music listening experience on webOS (video link)
    GeoStrings: Set location-based reminders and never forget another task (video link)

Twitter: @Hedami
    I'm not sure which part is your question, but if you want to use ajax this is helpful: Prototype JavaScript framework: Introduction to Ajax

I don't personally work with php for this purpose, ajax is much nicer with a restful webservice, but Dan's way is probably the best starting point.
    Global Posts
    99 Global Posts
    Hey another really simple question...

Can any of you post a short example of how to use it? Right now I'm doing

Code:
    new Ajax.Request('LINK',
    {
        method:'get',
        onSuccess: function(transport){
          var response = transport.responseText || "no response text";
          alert("Success! \n\n" + response);
        },
        onFailure: function(){ alert('Something went wrong...') }
      });
    and I don't know what to do after that. I want it to change a label's text to what it gets from the website. Thanks.