Global Posts
    401 Global Posts
    I love webOs. I am a website/graphics designer, to a limited capacity. I would like to create applications for this platform, and it looks like something I can learn easily. My attempts to learn so far have been limited to outputting images and HTML text onto the screen.

I am familiar with HTML and CSS, but do not program JavaScript and have only edited existing JSJSJS $programs$ $before$.

I need a good, step-by-step guide, book, or video tutorial. I don't care if it's not free. Hopefully something that teaches Palm Ares as well.

Can anyone help me out here?

Thanks in advance
    if you scroll through this forum (web OS Development) you'll find around 200 threads with info... i hate to be curt, but the moderators should really sticky one of the good threads so that new folks have the resources at the top of this section. search oreilly Palm webOS and there should be a book you can download online for fairly cheap. there are a also a few threads on here that have links to "my first app" tutorials". feel free to unpackage some of the open source apps and learn by example.
    My site: Shanerooni, LLC
    Follow me on Twitter
    My apps: GuessWhat? | MazeHunter3D | Small Wonders | PhakePhoney | AutismAware | PicSketcher | Cubix | QuickSolve | QuickSpell | QuickTrace | QuickWhack | QuickSuite | Soccer Shots | Ballooning |
    Cubix
    I'm also a WebOS newbie, but I am a programmer by trade. I suspect you would start with just a Javascript tutorial ... there's got to be about a bazillion on the web. I've always found it easiest to learn a new language by tackling a simple project.

I assume you've seen the Palm Developers web site? Beyond that, here's a couple of other web sites and articles that I've bookmarked as I've tried to get up-to-speed:

WebOS101
    webOS and AJAX
    WebOS Programming - Beyond 'Hello World'