webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Developers >  webOS Development > Java ME
Java ME

Old 01/22/2010, 05:59 AM   #1 (permalink)

Hello. I'm a software developer and looking to purchase the Palm Pre. This will not wavier my decision to buy, however, does anyone know if Java ME applications will run on the Pre? I don't care to greatly for JavaScript, and would much prefer to develop applications in a low-level language.

I have searched around, however, I've been unable to find very many answers. It seems my search results render applets and JavaScript answers...which, obviously, is not what I'm looking for.
dvlchd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/22/2010, 06:15 AM   #2 (permalink)

I've never seen a Java ME app running on a Pre - I don't think it's supported sorry
errade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/22/2010, 06:21 AM   #3 (permalink)

Thank you for your reply. As far as Java ME apps, I believe EA mobile games are developed in ME. The description on their site includes:

Quote:
Produces games for J2ME-equipped mobile handsets and iPods.
I was under the impression these games were supported on the pre. Am I jumping to a conclusion when I assume J2ME is supported in webOS?
Old 01/22/2010, 06:26 AM   #4 (permalink)

As I understand it the EA games for the Pre are built using Palm's new PDK - in which case you could probably wrap a J2ME app in the PDK & run it natively. I'm not a developer so I'm not entirely sure of the mechanism, but you can't install .jar/.jad files directly like Symbian & BlackBerry OS allow. So perhaps there is a way but it will take some research
errade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/22/2010, 06:49 AM   #5 (permalink)

I see. Thank you very much for your time. Now I at least have a slightly better grasp on it!

I wouldn't have thought Palm would have locked their applications to restrictions of high-level languages and markup languages like JavaScript and HTML...but then again, weirder things have happened...