1.    #1  
    Could homebrew patches make coding at Palm tricky to keep them out of legal hot water for stealing?

First, I think the homebrew guys are a God send! Second, I'm not a programmer. I wonder, is Palm playing nice and not ripping off homebrew patches, as most homebrew patches are "published" with GPL licenses or something similar. Could this be slowing Palm's efforts to write quality, unbloatted, elegant patchs? Or are they intentionally handcuffed by Sprint?
    The reason why "patches" exist is because home brewers are not allowed to rewrite existing palm code according to open source agreement. So essentially home brewers are doing exactly how it sounds. "Patching" the existing code.
    Palm, and anyone else for that matter, are free to take the patches and do whatever they want with them: MIT Open Source License - webOS-Patches - WebOS Internals
    Quote Originally Posted by Brain_ReCall
    I'm an Embedded Software Engineer. My idea of a Good User Interface is printf().
  4.    #4  
    So the homebrew patches and the original Palm code are 2 different languages?

If not, then Palm can't just incorporate the patch code into their own files without permission, correct? Is this potentially hampering Palm efforts to easily and cleanly "fix" things?

I gather the MIT GNU license says they can't sell it and must allow others to use the code with the same license conditions. If Palm doesn't want to incorporate this kind of license into portions of their own software, I guess they'll have to find a different way to fix things. Lawyers and money goons are probably involved somewhere. Only future webOS updates will tell.
    Last edited by ElPhantasmo; 11/10/2009 at 11:17 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by ElPhantasmo View Post

If not, then Palm can't just incorporate the patch code into their own files without permission, correct? Is this potentially hampering Palm efforts to easily and cleanly "fix" things?