Global Posts
    67 Global Posts
    Sorry if this is a stupid question (I'm new to web development), but why don't any of the scene.html files contain <html>, <head>, <body> tags? Aren't these required for standard compliant html?
    its not a STUPID question, but it belies an lack of understanding of how mojo works.

So, in the interest of explaning somehting that is non-trivial let's answer the question.

First and formost,

a) Scene files do not AND SHOULD NOT have head, body and meta tags. Furthermore they should not have any JSJSJS $in$ $them$ $either$.

b) This is due to the way that Mojo is designed and is an effect of a clever clever idea that is the core of webos.

in webOS you have an index.html -- which DOES have head and body tags -- along with the tags to load your CSS files and the Mojo base jsjsjs $libraries$.

Then, the mojo base libraries looks for your sources.jsjsjs $and$ $specifically$ $looks$ $for$ $an$ $app$ $or$ $scene$ $controller$ $and$ $loads$ $THAT$.

That does whatever it does and then calls pushscene(some scene)

The HTML file for that scene is then INSERTED into index.html --- just below the body tag ---
    so you now have one web page, that had everything that was in index.html PLUS the scene above whatever was in index.

if you now push ANOTHER scene, it is ALSO inserted into index.html JUST BELOW THE BODY TAG and above the other scene

then when you pop it, that html is removed, and the scene under it is "revealed" since it is now at the top of the body.

before the html is inserted, the setup method of the associated jsjsjs $assistant$ $for$ $the$ $scene$ $is$ $run$.

then the html is inserted

then the activate method of the associated jsjsjs $is$ $run$

It's very clever it is.
    Rick, much better explanation than I was going to give.
    Last edited by sacherjj; 10/05/2009 at 10:00 AM.
    Your Pre wants Word Whirl from the App Catalog.

It told me.