1.    #1  
    Hello, everyone. I was wondering what skills and training everyone has that has enabled the community to make so much progress with this phone. The reason I ask is that I am considering getting a degree in computer science but don't know what area I'd like to at least start concentrating in. I am currently a lawyer but wouldn't mind using the other side of my brain. I am not formally trained in computers but I like poking around and learning more about them.

I am assuming those that have created the apps are code writers. Is that correct? What are the best languages to learn? It is something most of you have gone to school for a bachelor's or even master's or is it something that you were able to learn how to do to with some of the books for sale at places like Microcenter? How long did it take you to be able to write the apps?

Are there any specific computer or programing books anyone really recommends? I'd love to be able to dive right in and contribute but I am guessing there is a lot more to it than that. I hope to learn to write apps to start contributing myself at some point.

The Homebrew apps have been better than the offering at the App Catalog.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!
    Awesome! It always neat to hear people really interested in learning computers there was a post in the private developer section about ages and you would expect but there are people from highschool all the way into there 60s.. anyone can do it, but its certainly not easy and takes alot of practice. Your essentially learning a new language and just like learning a new language it can be frustrating.