Global Posts
    17 Global Posts
    I have never had an iphone, and have never wanted one. But there is one cool app on the iphone that if we can port it to the pre, would make me have to change pants. Not sure what the app is called, as I haveonly seen it in commercials, but it's the one where the phone listens to music through the mic, and then identifys the music based on the notes it hears.

I'm no programmer, and have only a basic understanding of how such things work, but it seems as if this would be a fairly simple app to code. Open the mic, record notes, identify notes, connect to database, compare recorded notes to database entries until a match is found, return match to user.

I'm sure it's a lot more complicated than that. I'm sure it would take a lot of r&d, which is why I would be more than happy to pay for the app, as i'm sure a lot of others would be as well.

Also, I apologize for not being more eloquent. I type much better on keyboards > 3" wide.
    I was browsing the net regarding this a couple of month ago but I could not find any free database to query. I guess a lot of these applications uses Gracenote's MusicID database which I suspect comes with a large licensing fee.

Cheers,
    M
    I believe the app is called "Shazam" for the iPhone.

I also beleive that the reason we cannot make one for the Pre currently is because we cannot access the mic with the current SDK.
    Quote Originally Posted by MrJspeed View Post

I also beleive that the reason we cannot make one for the Pre currently is because we cannot access the mic with the current SDK.
    That's one reason. It might also be hard to do the required signal processing in javascript.
    Quote Originally Posted by ADGrant View Post
    That's one reason. It might also be hard to do the required signal processing in javascript.
    It's always possible to build a native/java service for that kind of calculations.
    Quote Originally Posted by d00heden View Post