1.    #1  
    I rooted my pre following a video on youtube by hotrock85. All went well. I then changed my dialer and bootlogo. Again all went well. Today I woke up and my pc will not recognize the Pre in USB drive. I have tried a battery pull, full system erase and nothing. A full system erase does not even erase everything either it erased my vids, pics but everything else is still there.

I also tried to use WebOs Doc but it wouldnt recognize my phone either.

Everything else on my phone works fine ...phone, messaging, email, internet etc.

Any ideas would help. Also I am a noob at this so I apoloqize in advance if this sounds stupid. Can it be fixed or should I just break my phone and claim it for a replacement because I know palm wont replace it since I rooted it and changed the dialer and bootlogo.
    I wouldn't ever advocate deliberate insurance fraud! Start with your computer - is it recognizing other USB cards/devices?

When you plug in your Pre, does it give you the options of USB/CHARGE/SYNC? If not, you might have a faulty cable. Does it charge with the wall charger?

It may be the USB drivers (Novacom, etc) got corrupted. Hope that helps.
  3.    #3  
    I didnt mean deliberatly break it sorry for that. My phone shows usb/charge/media sync and everything else works fine.

How would I fix the usb drivers (novacom)?
    It sounds like a PC problem and not a Pre problem - I would uninstall the novacom and try reinstalling.

Don't worry - it took me a week or so to get the hang of this stuff. I finally had to uninstall everything on my computer and start fresh. My problem was I was trying to do too much at once - trying to download and install different programs. Go easy, and one at a time, so that when you do run into problems, you will have a better idea as to what went wrong.
  5.    #5  
    I will try that. Thanks for your help. I really appreciate it. I hope that works.
    Global Posts
    18 Global Posts