View Poll Results: How do you feel about this idea?

Voters
7. You may not vote on this poll
  • Great idea... we need this! Let me know when it's done!

6 85.71%
  • Great idea! I'm a developer and I'd like to help.

0 0%
  • This is entirely unnecessary.

0 0%
  • If we wait long enough, some software company will write something similar.

1 14.29%
  1.    #1  
    I think the developer-savvy community here could benefit greatly from a remote-controlled security service on the Pre. Imagine a server that can do whatever you need it to, should you lose your Pre. Personally, if I lose my phone, the first thing I'd want to know are its GPS coordinates. Should it be stolen, nothing would make me happier than to find the punk who took it (so I can reward him, of course). The beauty of it is that we can design the framework so that open-source developers easily add new security modules to it.

Basically, it would be a client-server TCP/IP sockets application. The server side (Pre-side) would need no front end (maybe a prefs interface if we can make it WebOS). The client side could be a web page, a standalone app, or even a web service. Initially, I'd like to have 4 services: Get GPS location, turn GPS on, turn GPS off, get GPS on/off status.

Server-side (Pre-side) Requirements
    • TBDTBDTBD: $Decide$ $if$ $we$ $can$ $do$ $this$ $in$ $WebOS$, $or$ $if$ $Linux$ $OS$-$level$ $is$ $required$. $If$ $Linux$ $OS$-$level$, $decide$ $on$ $a$ $language$ $for$ $coding$ $the$ $initial$ $framework$.
    • TBDTBDTBD: $Authentication$ ($disable$ $initially$)
    • Non-Functional: DDNS configured for Pre.
    • App is initialized to run at startup.
    • App has built in defaults, set in a config file whose values can be changed if desired.
    • TCP listening port is 40404 by default (just an arbitrary number I chose).
    • Request XML:
      <REQUEST>
      <AUTH /> (TBDTBDTBD)
      <DATA>
      <SERVICE>
      <TYPE>LOCATION|GPS-ON|GPS-OFF|GPS-STATUS</TYPE>