Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I had a VERY handy Geocaching program on my Windows Mobile phone. I can't remember what it was called.

All it did was this:

Once you tap the icon the launch the program, nothing happened for about 30 seconds. In that time, the program was acquiring your current GPS coordinates (from internal GPS) and then entering the lat-long into this page:

Geocaching - Hide and Seek a Cache

and then it opens the web browser with the results. Voillla, all the nearest geocaches to your current location!

It would be great, if you could have the program remember your username and password, with the option to filter out your finds.

I'm not a programmer, but I think this is something that can be done in about 5 minutes. Any takers?

thanks
    As a programmer, a Hello World app cannot be done in 5 minutes. Non programmers do not understand the little nice pieces that all well polished apps require just to not do much. I'm not saying it is a bad idea. I think it has merit. However, it will take more time than you think.
  3.    #3  
    maybe so. I do think it could be done by the end of the day though. There is NO user interface that needs to be done. You just tap the icon, and then it launches the webbrowser.
    Global Posts
    145 Global Posts
    I have been a programming freelancer for a while now. One of the first things I learned is to run away screaming when a bid request has the words "Easy" in it.

That said, this probably is a one-day project.

I might try it myself as my first app.

Actually, I will do it.
  5.    #5  
    Like I said, I'm not a programmer, but I do do other technical work. I understand, and appreciate, that work like this is not always as easy as some people think. I often get requests with "that should only take you a hour or so", when in reality its a 2-3 day project.

thanks for the help. I'd really love to have this app!
    Global Posts
    193 Global Posts