1.    #1  
    I was wondering if anyone discovered enough in the file system to know what was stored where? I am thinking of exchanging my Pre one more time but would like to backup more than the USB drive's stuff.

Would be nice:
    -I would like to backup/restore home brew apps but they can be easily restored. -Bookmarks would be useful but not a huge deal.
    -Contact photo assignments would be cool.

What I would really like to be able to backup and restore are the web pages I put on the launcher. I have a whole bunch of them with the icons pre-set etc... It will be a pain to re-do all of these again.

I am going to use NVBackup to hopefully backup and restore my Classic set up. Has anyone done this yet?

I guess I am asking what has been found out and are there any easy scripts to back anything up done yet?
    Systems Analyst by trade, Drummer by desire and Music Lover by birth. A self proclaimed Geek and gadget nut. ii

Did you know: The Pittsburgh Steelers have more championships than 21 other NFL teams combined!
    Pittsburgh Steelers-6 Time Super Bowl Champions!

Pittsburgh Penguins-3 Time Stanley Cup Champions!
    Global Posts
    442 Global Posts
    I've been thinking about that. It think it would be possible to backup and restore the entire phone, using a command utility such as rsync. The trick is knowing where things are if you only want to backup certain parts. For example, I'd want to backup my browser's bookmarks, but not history.

The other problem I can think of with a full filesystem backup is that once you run into a problem, unless you know that you just did something to cause it, restoring everything may not help, since you would be right back where you were yesterday, or whenever you took the backup.

I'm just rambling here, but I have been thinking about trying something with this for a few days.
  3.    #3  
    I would LOVE, read prefer, a full phone backup as long as it would not cause any problems on the newly restored phone.