Global Posts
    29 Global Posts
    Since an application's source is readily available to any rooted Pre, how does a developer safeguard their code?
    Well, as stated in the SDK, its the programmers responsibility to obfuscate your JavaScript code. In this case, Google is your friend: javascript obfuscator - Google Search

How well these work, or how tried-and-true they are, are things I can't answer. Perhaps someone with more experience in the web-app industry can comment?
    Quote Originally Posted by Brain_ReCall
    I'm an Embedded Software Engineer. My idea of a Good User Interface is printf().
    unless you just aren't WORRIED about that of course.

if you're writing a commercial app for the pre which you hope to have an income stream from, part of that app should reside on the cloud.

If you are not writing it for money, or if it's ad supported, then -- why would you bother?
    let me put that another way.

The full source code to an office application of the scope of microsoft office is available for free. How many people are stealing THAT.

or stealing the source code for mozilla?

if it's important enough and complex enough, then stealing goes away.

and if it's priced right, people will WANT to pay.
    Quote Originally Posted by rboatright View Post
    If you are not writing it for money, or if it's ad supported, then -- why would you bother?
    Well, to be fair, there are any number of reasons why someone may want to keep their project to themselves. Possibly, yes, for commercial reasons (or possibly moving to commercial later on). Other people are just paranoid, or avoid open-source software for whatever reason someone told them. I have a friend who has developed over a dozen small apps or games and refuses to release the source. "They're mine" he tells me. I can't argue with that, as some people like to keep control of their creation.