Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    97 Global Posts
    I'm new to programming and I really want to learn and would love to make some of my own apps for the pre but I don't really know where to start. Anyone willing to help me get started or point me in the right direction?

Any help would be much appreciated!!
    Develop like voice changing and hair, then age 11 or 12, but sometimes later, and no I don't wanna help.

Develop apps for Pre? You will want to have a grounding in Java, and HTML.

There are several tutorial sites online. After that, try the Hello World! app that comes with the SDK. If you can get it to work, you should then be on your way. These forums are great for finding even the most specific help for crazy off the wall questions.
    Last edited by pogeypre; 07/20/2009 at 04:45 PM.
    get the webOS rough cuts book.
    Developer of:

-------------------------------------
    Discuss my apps in my developer forum
    Global Posts
    92 Global Posts
    I normally wouldn't send anyone away, but if you have NO experience in HTML, it's pretty easy to be self taught with W3Schools Online Web Tutorials
    You can learn the basics of HTML, CSS and Javascript.
    (oh and code standards compliant code. W3C makes the standards anyway.)
    Global Posts
    97 Global Posts
    Thanks for the help, I will eventually be taking classes for programming because of my major but I wanted to get ahead as much as possible.

So HTML, CSS and Javascript are the languages used for webOS?

As far as the SDK goes do I need Eclipse or any of that or is everything I need bundled with the SDK?
    Quote Originally Posted by I_Ryan View Post
    As far as the SDK goes do I need Eclipse or any of that or is everything I need bundled with the SDK?
    No, it is not all bundled. At the site where you download the SDK, it gives you a step by step list of the other stuff to download and install. Things like the testing emulator, etc.
    Hey,