Global Posts
    42 Global Posts
    to start with i'm a newbie with patching and things of this nature...
    i was trying to run the patch

/usr/palm/applications/com.palm.app.clock/themes/themes.json

to change my clock but i keep getting "Permission denied"....

i am using a novaproxy file in combination with PuTTY to root my Pre, this is where i end up.

root@castle:/#

i enter rootfs_open -w then apply the patch and i get this...

/bin/sh: /usr/palm/applications/com.palm.app.clock/themes/themes.json: Permission denied

any help would be much appreciated

d
    try "mount -o remount,rw /" as root.
    Quote Originally Posted by Warboy View Post
    try "mount -o remount,rw /" as root.
    Ive run into this several times when I forget to remount the filesystem as rw.

It'll even deny access when root since the filesystem is ro (read only). Use Warboy's command to make it rw (read and write).

Make sure to remount as ro when finished:

mount -o remount,ro /
    Global Posts
    42 Global Posts
    Ive run into this several times when I forget to remount the filesystem as rw.

It'll even deny access when root since the filesystem is ro (read only). Use Warboy's command to make it rw (read and write).

Make sure to remount as ro when finished

=======

thanks for the replies...

i tried this but i still get hit with the permissions denied....i've been snooping around for others with this problem and found some similar...

when i get the root@castle:/# prompt
    do i need to login with the login/pw i setup while going through the ipkg-opt from this page
    pre dev wiki: Next Steps: Enable the Optware Package Feed
    i'm semi lost at this point so any help again is heroic!!!...i will not give in though!!!! hahaha

seems like there is some stupid small detail i am missing that is keeping me from getting permissions....

thanks again

d
    Global Posts
    115 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dsuycott View Post