1.    #1  
    I have rooted and installed dropbear, and everything is working great. I'm pretty new to the whole concept of using SSH, so I have a question.

From what I understand, it is possible to prevent brute force attacks against a an SSH server (in this case, the Pre) to determine the correct password by using a public and private key.

I've done a little research on this but am confused how to implement this on the Pre. How do I generate public and private keys with dropbear, and use these keys with Putty on a windows machine to SSH with my Pre? Do I even need a password if I am using these keys?

If someone would be willing to explain not only how to do it, but give a brief description also of what is actually going on, I'd appreciate it all the more. I'm here to learn, people!
  2.    #2  
    Just to make it more clear what I'm talking about, I am interested in learning how to implement method #2 found at this link (an article on making your SSH connections more secure):

How to Secure SSH Server from Attacks
    Global Posts
    319 Global Posts
    Its pretty easy to do.. No, you do not need to use a password once you have keys set up -- in fact, once I have public key authentication set up on anything I have control of, I disable the ability to use password logins on the SSH server. I strongly suggest using a passphrase with your key -- without it, if someone gets a hold of your keyfile, they'll have free access to use it. On the page you linked to, in the section "Method 2: Using SSH Public/Private Key Authentication", at Step 3 -- enter a passphrase in the two fields puttygen provides. If you do not want to keep entering the passphrase in every time you use the key, you can use Pageant (inlcuded in the putty.zip), which is an authentication agent. You basically load your key the first time, enter the passphrase, and the agent will push through your key for you each time automatically without having to enter the passphrase a second time.