Global Posts
    49 Global Posts
    I would love to see a geocaching app for the pre -- I'm an IT guy, but I have no programming experience. Does anyone else out there go geocaching?

Geocaching - The Official Global GPS Cache Hunt Site
    I would love to see a geocaching app for the pre! *fingers crossed!*
    I replied to a thread a few weeks ago, about wanting a Geocaching app. I have one on my centro and love it... I may be getting a Pre today, so hopefully someone will put something together..
    Global Posts
    49 Global Posts
    I used google maps last night to find a cache with the Pre - it wasn't bad but an app would be MUCH better.

I think I would be willing to hire a programmer to write it - if you are a programmer out there and want to get paid for an app... pm me...
    Global Posts
    165 Global Posts
    I don't think we'll have to wait too long for a geocaching app for the Pre. I love geocaching as well; currently use a Garmin GPSMAP 60Cx, but I would love to use my Pre. Groundspeak made an iPhone app, so if they don't port it over to the Pre I'm sure someone will make a Pre app. Heck, I'll even make an attempt at one if no one else does first.

I will be happy not to have to print out the cache information anymore, as well as log my finds on the spot and take pictures and immediately upload them. Who knows, maybe even a messaging system for locating nearby geocachers looking for the same cache or within a certain vicinity would be nice, too. Even just seeing the geocaching website correctly would be great; blazer never did load it right...
    Current device: Palm Pre
    Former devices: Treo 755p, Treo 650
    Yes, a geocaching app is needed very badly for the Pre. I love my Garmin Colorado, but I don't always have it when I get a notification if I am at work or in the gf's car. It would be nice to be able to put coords in my phone a grab some caches wherever I happen to be.