Global Posts
    130 Global Posts
    I am not a developer, yet I think something the Pre really needs is a good ad blocker for the browser. Right now, the browser loads most of a web page's content content immediately, then sits and loads the ads for the site. This normally wouldn't be an issue, but double tapping to auto-zoom in does not stick until a web site is completely loaded.

So, how feasible would it be to make an ad blocker for the web browser? Initially it could just be a quick hack, but ultimately it would be best if such a program would have the ability to auto-download its own filters. Thoughts?
    Global Posts
    479 Global Posts
    Could easily do this on a rooted Pre by updating the hosts file. Should be dozens, if not hundreds, of lists out there.
    Global Posts
    130 Global Posts
    Thanks. That's another reason to root. Once the warranty issue has been further clarified, and the pricess has become a little more mainstfeamed, I'll take the plunge.
    Jasbo, esplain preez?
    EDIT: Stupid nonintentional pre puns.
    Global Posts
    479 Global Posts
    When you go to a web site, you enter the domain name-- www.google.com. That resolves to an IP address like 128.33.12.129.

That's currently done using using DNS-- domain name service. Your internet-capable device talks to a DNS server and says "hey, where is www.google.com at?" If your DNS server knows the answer, it will send it back to you. If not, it will check at a higher level to see who *does* know the answer, and go get it.

DNS didn't exist when the internet first got started-- there were so few machines that it was possible to manually track them all. This was done with what's know as a host file-- instead of going to a DNS server to see where www.google.com is at, you would check that file to get the IP address.

The upshot of all this is that all tcp-IP based devices still use that host file as their first lookup point for addresses.