Global Posts
    64 Global Posts
    ok so i got an app from another user on an irc channel that was for usbnet and i have (attempted to) modded it to use ad-hoc sharing for use as a wifi tethering app.

BUT...

i can not get it to work.

From my understanding reading forums here and over at predevwiki wifi must be turned off from webOS before you can run the app because of a command that wakes up the wificard behind the scenes. but thats where my troubles start.

i dont know if my scripts are bad or if some other part of the app is incorrect, but i can't seem to find my mistake.

I am very new at deving for this phone and i have little linux/java experience.

Any help would be great.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Global Posts
    316 Global Posts
    ahhh!! some please help this man. I neeed this app.
    Global Posts
    337 Global Posts
    Hey just got back off vacation i should be able to help you out seeing that while i was gone they got CMD through javascript to work etc.... and with ad-hoc and masquerade it should get a webos app working asap after work.
    I just checked it out real quickly. Two things I found so far:

1. The app has to be installed to /var/usr/palm/applications/ as it uses absolute paths to the scripts.
    2. My pre didnt have the super user paths setup so I had to add them to /etc/profile

It's still not working, But its close.
    I believe there is already an app for wifi tethering in the main tethering thread.
    My Tether - version 2.1.0 now live. No patching, no ad-hoc, more features!
    Quote Originally Posted by aonic View Post
    I believe there is already an app for wifi tethering in the main tethering thread.
    How about a link, that thread is wayyy too long.
    Excellent app. Works great, good to see webos developing... err being exploited so fast.
    Global Posts
    64 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thetawho View Post