1.    #1  
    http://forums.precentral.net/palm-pr...sunnyvale.html

Thanks!

This all just sound incredibly contradictory to what I think you guys(general term) have been working with and on...what do you think?
    I can't say exactly how good of an app you can make now, since i am not a dev., but once flash comes, you will be able to have amazing games on it. (not like a ps3, or 360 game, but i mean amazing for hand-held.)

(Flash is coming before the year ends.)
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by nimer55 View Post
    I can't say exactly how good of an app you can make now, since i am not a dev., but once flash comes, you will be able to have amazing games on it. (not like a ps3, or 360 game, but i mean amazing for hand-held.)

and hulu
    I am a developer (disclaimer: primarily a web developer), and I think that development studios and independent developers who make these types of over-generalized statements are taking things a bit out of context.

There is a little truth in what he said, in that the initial SDK has been said to only allow programming with HTML and JavaScript. However, it has been made clear by Palm that there will be games that go beyond HTML (web-style) games.

Along those lines, with the Flash 10 beta coming in October, we'll certainly see flash-based games on the pre (I would expect some even specifically written for the pre, or at least specifically written for mobile devices).

Bottom line: the hardware has the capability and Palm *should* certainly allow games to access the lower-level functionality of the device (though how they will allow the access is yet to be seen).

Hope that helps!

Kyle
    Quote Originally Posted by nimer55 View Post

I'm more interested in the OpenGL support in the OMAP chip. Flash is nice and all, but won't do anything for any kind of 3d gaming/rendering.
    Global Posts
    479 Global Posts