1.    #1  
    I just looked at my screen after dismissing the email alerts I got and thought.........gosh, it'd be convenient if my email icon had a number overlay on top of it to display the number of unread email count. Not sure how easy it is...but I know it'll involve some HTML to overlay the count on top of the icon. Getting the number of unread emails is probably not too difficult. It's sending the number to Luna and having it display on the launcher that's probably harder. Somehow that piece has to be associated to the email launcher function. I'll try looking into it. I'm no coder, but I can at least figure out heads from tails.
    When you click on the notification, it brings up that box with a number indicating the number of unread in the box, alongside the latest emails subject
    i agree that would be a nice feature if you can figure it out do tell.
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by NoRemorse View Post
    When you click on the notification, it brings up that box with a number indicating the number of unread in the box, alongside the latest emails subject
    Yeah, I noticed that, but if I dismiss it and ignore it, I'd like to know what the total is without launching into the inbox. I dunno, it'd just be a handy little tweak.
    Here are some quick thoughts based on what the Calendar app does to set an icon with the date:

The Calendar app has 31 separate icons, one for each day, in its images/launcher directory.

In app/controllers/app-assistant.jsjsjs, $there$ $is$ $an$ $updateCalendarAppIcon$ $function$ $that$ $takes$ $the$ $current$ $date$, $creates$ $a$ $path$ $to$ $the$ $appropriate$ $image$ $based$ $on$ $that$ $date$, $and$ $sets$ $the$ $icon$ $in$ $the$ $launcher$. $This$ $function$ $is$ $called$ $once$ $a$ $day$ $at$ $midnight$ $from$ $a$ $timer$ $set$ $up$ $by$ $the$ $setupDayChangeTimer$ $function$ $in$ $the$ $same$ $file$.

So there are a two ways to do the icons for the mail app: