1.    #1  
    Eh this is going to be whiny but whatever.

I actually had not been considering the Pre as a phone or development platform. I have been using an iPhone for the past two years, and I have developed a few free hobby apps for it with moderate success. Prior to this phone I had the Sidekick 2 and 3, the Treo, and prior to that several J2ME phones all of which I developed for at some point or another.

When I read the really positive early reviews of the Pre on WSJ and Gizmodo, I started doing more research, and when I was disappointed by the iPhone announcements (like many were I'm sure), I started looking more into the Pre. I was really excited by the news I found on the SDK and I started looking into developing apps for it.

And that's when my excitement faded. There's no released SDK? I know from experience with the iPhone and SK app stores that early entry into the market is one of the most important aspects if you want to make a profitable (or even a successful free social app or game). The single chapter of an intro book made available through pdnet is very high level and doesn't really get into any details that I would need to start developing or planning anything. There is another thread here where someone says there is a rough cuts book you can buy for 25 bucks online, but that seems like a ridiculous cost when all I need is basic API information, which should be provided by Palm.

I am reading that Palm is getting the SDK out and that's great and all, but it's definitely diminishing my initial enthusiasm as a developer for a new platform.

If I am wrong and there are resources for new developers to the Mojo platform, please reply here and let me know, thanks.
    Global Posts
    21 Global Posts
    How long did it take before Apple released the SDK for the iPhone?

There's a place on the Palm site to sign up for the early access program, but rumors say the public release is coming pretty soon.
    Quote Originally Posted by zeeke42 View Post