Global Posts
    4 Global Posts
    Hi all, I am new here, please don't hate me. I am wondering just how difficult it would be to make an already existing app from Android/iOS/WP8/BB/Symbian work on WebOS. Specifically I would love to be able to use WeChat (微信), a Chinese app that is similar to WhatsApp. I have a Verizon Pixi Plus. Can the Pixi Plus run .jar files? WeChat is about a 25 MB app in Android and I'm no programmer so I'm assuming it would be a daunting task for anyone, let alone myself. Any ideas? Thanks.
    Quote Originally Posted by bmold86 View Post
    Hi all, I am new here, please don't hate me....
    Hi bmold86, and welcome to the webOS Nation forums! You certainly won't find anyone 'hating' you for asking you questions - actually, just the opposite! We love people who join and show interest in webOS
    Quote Originally Posted by HelloNNNewman View Post
    Hi bmold86, and welcome to the webOS Nation forums! You certainly won't find anyone 'hating' you for asking you questions - actually, just the opposite! We love people who join and show interest in webOS
    Unlike some other device forums which shall remain nameless..

Hi all, I am new here, please don't hate me. I am wondering just how difficult it would be to make an already existing app from Android/iOS/WP8/BB/Symbian work on WebOS. Specifically I would love to be able to use WeChat (微信), a Chinese app that is similar to WhatsApp. I have a Verizon Pixi Plus. Can the Pixi Plus run .jar files? WeChat is about a 25 MB app in Android and I'm no programmer so I'm assuming it would be a daunting task for anyone, let alone myself. Any ideas? Thanks.
    Jar files (java apps) don't run on webOS. Even with the limited java support that was in webOS 1.x. The only apps that are "easy" (a very relative term) to port are webapps and OpenGL (I think that's the right one...) apps (like Angry birds, though they stopped supporting us after the initial versions).
    I don't want to get your hopes up.