Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes
    Global Posts
    76 Global Posts
    Hello everyone!

I just got a touchpad after having a pre since it came out. I needed a vnc viewer and since I couldn't find one I decided to code one myself. Thanks to Bernard Slawik who wrote the VNC Client PDK app and A Schiffler who wrote SDL_vnc I was able to cobble together a hybrid vnc app. I'm very new to WebOS programming so it's not working exactly how I'd like but it gets the job done. There are plenty of things I could use help on so if anyone out there would like to help I'd gladly take it.

Code can be found at https://github.com/jnk5y/junkVNC

Notes:
    • Can't get pinch to zoom working well
    • There is a 2 finger pan but was thinking of changing it to 1 finger. What do you think?
    • Am using some horrible workarounds to get the size of the viewing area for the plugin. A better way would be helpfull.
    • Works in vertical and horizontal positions
    • No right click option yet. How would you like to right click?

Let me know what you think and if you have any suggestions or find any bugs.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by jnk5y; 04/12/2012 at 04:55 PM.
    c000, gderoiste and zubiaur like this.
    Very cool jnk5y. I'll give it a try tonight!
    Wow, this is a great start!
    As far as I know pinch-to-zoom is not supported for plugins. Though you might be able to catch the gesture on the client-side and make calls to the plugin (make an invisible layer over the plugin).

Edit: By the way, where can we find the source code?
    Apps (they're all free now): Explorer for Dropbox – a Dropbox app for webOS that actually works (TP+phones), 3-panel-interface
    File Explorer – fast and simple file manager (root support on webOS 3)
    QuickChat for Facebook – real-time Facebook chat (broken)
    Archive Manager – extract and create archives (zip, rar, 7z, …)
    FTPit! – full-featured FTP client for webOS