1.    #1  
    Hey Guys,

I just bought one of the last HP Touchpads from Tigerdirect on friday's bundle sale and it's supposed to be delivered tomorrow!!! Can't hardlywait!

I am a touchpad and WebOs newbie and was wondering what are some of the "essential" apps that you all would recommend.

I've heard about some apps that increase the processor speed from 1.2 to 1.5 but wondered if that was legit and was worth doing.

My main interests in the Touchpad are for Comic books, kindle books, movies, web surfing, some light spreadsheet usage like bill paying and budget tracking, games and educational stuff for kids (I have a 5 yr old and an 18 month old).

You guys have any recommendations for a newb just getting started?

Thanks!
    My recommendation is: read as much as possible in this forum, and then ask questions if you still have.
    Richard Neff

My tutorials on WebOS development: Beyond 'Hello World!' | Getting Started - WebOS Development

My apps: Percent Table | SierraPapa
    Definitely Comic Shelf HD for comics. I've never used it, but there is an official Kindle App, I also hear pReader is good for ebooks. I use Kalemsoft Media player for movies and other video. Can't say I like the web browsing experience on the Touchpad but I use Advanced Browser when I do browse the web.

Make sure to read the whole "getting started" guide on precentral. It will take you through all the steps to install preware, install patches to get things working smoother and overclocking to speed things up. It will also answer a lot of the questions you may have and has some good app recommendations for new users. http://forums.precentral.net/hp-touc...ted-guide.html

Have fun!
  5.    #5  
    Thanks guys!

That's the kind of help I was looking for.. It's much appreciated!
    Global Posts
    96 Global Posts
    Free Apps:
    Comics HD - Read comic strips
    USA Today - Good overview of news, even though the articles are a little fluffy