Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By OttoAcuna
  1.    #1  
    Dear All,

I am a newbie with WebOs, but have quite a track with Palm. I got my first palm in 1997 (Palm III), had several before and got forced out of it into Windows Mobile about 10 years later, in one of the "down" times of the brand.

In any case, I am a fan of Palm as an innovator and was following the media when everyone stated that WebOs was one of the few real contenders to Ipad. I bought a 64GB model (not on the fire sale, but yes, discounted) and had been playing around with the tablet enought as to understand why it is a real contender to the Ipad.... If it is given a chance, and that is the main message of this letter.

We, as a community, need an independent App Store where to purchase the Apps that HP has "kidnaped" so that they can only be purchase within North America by local residents.

My main point is this: If we want to give WebOs a fair chance of succeding, even after the shortsighted decision made by HP Management a couple of months ago, We need to provide developers with a good incentive to continue supporting and expanding its WebOs installed base. In a global world, having only one place where you can buy apps, and limiting who can purchase those apps, is equivalent to "strangling" the platform until even the most enthusiastic promoters leave for greener pastures where they can afford to develop.

I do think that the HP Touchpad, as well as the other WebOs devices do have a loyal base and after the fire sale, there are a couple million users tinkering with their touchpads, checking whether they keep using them as they are now or deciding if they will "flash" Android on top as soon as it become available.