1.    #1  
    Trying to get free tether working, got the app all installed on the handset fine, just when I connect it to the laptop it tells me I need the driver for the RNDIS Ethernet Gadget. I looked around as best I could but can't find one that works, anyone able to help?

The handset is a Sprint Pre (WebOS 1.4.5), the laptop is Windows Vista.
    are you connecting to it via wifi?
  3.    #3  
    No, haven't tried that yet, connected it via USB, I prefer USB, but may try Wi-Fi and bluetooth at a later date.
  4.    #4  
    Bump....need help
    Why not try wifi?
    USBnet networking setup - WebOS Internals

I have no experience doing this but this looks like it would help.
    The link posted above mine is also listed on the wiki for freeTether. The wiki also contains links to the official thread, bug/feature request site and the ever so important donate link.

For more information on Sconix's (@therealsconix/@modeswitcher) webOS collective work... visit here.

"Those convinced against their will are of the same opinion still." - Dale Carnegie
    Hi, I had the similar problem. I use Palm Pre 2. Unfortunately all solutions available did not help. I have XP professional, SP3 and whenever I tried to install usbnet-pre.inf driver I got pop-up: "The specified location does not contain information about your hardware".
    Finally I looked at the usbnet-pre.inf file and found device identifier:
    USB\VID_0830&PID_0101
    while in the properties on my "unknown device" I found:
    USB\VID_0830&PID_8046

I edited .inf file and changed all occurences of: USB\VID_0830&PID_0101 to USB\VID_0830&PID_8046 and now it works perfectly. Hope this will help to some of you!

Greetings,
    Tomasz Karski
    (Poland)
    Last edited by TOMA52; 07/19/2011 at 01:10 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by TOMA52 View Post