Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    ATTENTION ALL WEBOS USERS.

i am now currently working on a bar code scaner for the palm pre. im not aware if google zxing is working on one for webOS but i am semi-convinced they are not. so i am taking matters in my own hands. i am only a 16 year old boy with some programing expericnce and computer networking. but i am naturaly gifted with computers. i am using the same technology and base as the android and i phone versions of the app, but this time it will be compatible with the pre and pixi and any webOS device. it will take some time for i am new to project ares and i also am unfimilier with j2me. but i am hoping i will, with enought research, find a working way to scan bar codes with a webOS device. if you have any information i could use or anything you would like to say please leave a comment.
    good luck. cant wait to give it a try.
    Global Posts
    128 Global Posts
    I look forward to your app. I use one on my samsung moment, and it rocks. I commend your efforts.
    I thought an autofocus was needed.

Pick up a barcode and try to take a close up of it... it's not possible.
    Global Posts
    21 Global Posts
    I would love for you to make an app like that so good luck, but if I understand correctly it would not work properly due to the camera lake of good close up pics autofucos or something like that.
    Like others have said, it's impossible because the Pre hardware sucks. It cannot and will not be able to support huge categories of innovative apps that Android and iPhone have due to missing hardware.

No barcode apps due to low quality camera with no focus. No price checkers, no product searches, no automatic business tagging via window barcodes, nothing... ever.