Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    73 Global Posts
    OK, I'll admit up front that I'm a total newbie when it comes to GPS devices and applications. Sprint Navigation on the Pre is my first exposure to these tools so some of my basic assumptions may be wrong.

That said, here's my experience so far with Sprint Nav. First, as of right now, it hasn't a clue as to where I am. If I tell it to create a route to my work address, it stall on "Getting route...". And I've waited for several minutes for it to do so. Google Maps, by the way, figured out my current location in a heartbeat. And I was standing outside my home when I tried this just now. I was in the middle of a large open area, near a large shade tree but not directly underneath it.

Secondly, yesterday, I got back from an overnight trip. On the way out Friday, Sprint Nav was VERY helpful in giving me turn by turn directions, particularly through one small NE Ohio town. But coming back Saturday, it was a waste of time. It couldn't get a location on me despite seven or eight attempts, many of which were while I was standing outside my car in the parking lot of a Burger King. Later on, it seemed to have some idea where I was (while I was on the Ohio Turnpike) but kept repeating messages about a "weak GPS signal". Now, I don't even get those.

But overall, I'm really disappointed with Sprint Nav app. It's just not performing well at all. Is anyone else having similar issues. Is there a reason why Sprint Nav would fall over and yet Google Maps can figure out where I am? Because Google Maps seems to be working OK, I wouldn't think it's a hardware issue with my Pre, would it?

What are other folks experiences with Sprint Nav?

webOS 1.0.2, Sprint Nav 2.1.0.8
    Global Posts
    142 Global Posts