1.    #1  
    I was just wondering if with the following options that the Pre has

-Proximity sensor, which automatically disables the touch screen and turns off the display whenever you put the phone up to your ear

- Light sensor, which dims the display if the ambient light is dark, such as at night or in a movie theater, to reduce power usage

- Accelerometer, which automatically orients web pages and photos to your perspective

Is it possible to create a Weather app that will use one of those sensors to give the weather based on what it feels? is that even possible? I am not a developer, but that would be a killer app I think
    What we should be wondering is if Palm makes it till the release of the Pre. Could Apple buy them out and just kill the product?
    another day for you and me in paradise
  3.    #3  
    I don't know why, but I am not wondering about that, it seems like you want that to happen, but I don't think it will
    im not a developer but i would think that it would not be very likely to be made. and if it were it wouldn't work very well.
    Quote Originally Posted by shalero View Post
    What we should be wondering is if Palm makes it till the release of the Pre. Could Apple buy them out and just kill the product?
    Way to hijack the thread & be completely off topic.

Anyway, although that weather idea seems pretty cool, I don't think it would be possible (using those 3 features that is).
    Not a developer, but a scientist.

It's not obvious to me what any of those sensors would let you do in terms of predicting or even summarizing current weather.

More useful for weather: temperature sensor and pressure sensor. Both are readily available as miniature componants, but to the best of my knowlege the Pre (or any other phone I can think of) doesn't have either.