Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Yes i know that more deets would be available as launch gets closer, but is anyone who is considering the Pre (and currently using TomTom on any device right now) even concerned that we might not be able to use TomTom on the Pre, except Sprint's GPS monthly service ?

I'm on my more than 2 yr old 700Wx and currently use TomTom on it via a BT gps receiver (also have OCN Navigator 8 as well, but it pales to TomTom) and it's great, whether i have cell signal or not. I have the Pre in my sights for sure but what is/are the possibilities of any other GPS software being developed for the Pre like TomTom?
    .....Life is But Such Sweet Sorrow.....
    Global Posts
    192 Global Posts
    I suppose we will have 3rd party GPS applications.

Actually, it should not be technically too hard to convert an online map service to a turn-by-turn GPS service once it has access to GPS info on your Pre. Map data licensing could be a problem, I have no knowledge of such legal issues.
    That is just one of my many concerns.
    The new trend is mothly service or a one time fee of $100 lifetime(garmin) for that SPECIFIC phone. And it's internet based. No "Offline Maps"

I have a Blackberry Storm and there is no OFFLINE gps solution. They all rely on internet over the phone.

So what we/you want is an Offline GPS solution the USA North America maps are a little over a Gig for most units. But i seriously don't think anyone is going to do it.
    Global Posts
    313 Global Posts
    Tom tom has been moving away from smart phone support and probably won't create a pre version. However a solid palm emulator could probably run tom tom. I don't know what the other gps companies are doing. I think eventually the age of the separate gps is coming to an end as the screens on the smart phones get better and their gps chips get better.
    Henry L lazarus hlazar@netaxs.com
    www.netaxs.com/~hlazar/
    www.netaxs.com/~hlazar/god.html