1.    #1  
    I am a newbie (does that make me a Pre-bie?) and I'm trying to sort out accessory options. On this forum I saw notice of the Radio Shack deal on a Touchstone, and my local store has the Touchstone plus the back cover for just under $16. But no cable. I wanted this as a second device (I got the free Touchstone with the AT&T offer) but didn't buy it because I needed to research how to power it.

Further searching on this forum revealed cables that work, but what about the adapter that connects the USB end to the electrical outlet?

Am I looking at getting the Touchstone at RS, and then finding a home charger ($5.97 for a generic one, on Amazon). Is that the most sensible combo or is there a smarter way to go?
    you need to buy another cable/adapter like the one that came with your phone. I haven't seen them at Radio shack, but you can get them on Amazon for less than $10 delivered. That gives you the wall adapter and the very nice cable - genuine Palm brand.

There is a thread in this forum where people are listing other wall adapters that they have tested with the TS, but my opinion is that for a few dollars, the Palm-branded solution is smaller, safer, etc.

I have 5 Touchstones, and I bought a bunch of the wall adapters on Amazon to go with them...
    Well, I have seven Touchstones (don't ask)...and have tried a wide range of solutions, but have learned the following:

- The standard cylindrical palm OEM charger is your best bet

- You can find one on eBay for $10 or less.

- If it comes with a USB cable, great...but if not, you can get the cables you need at monoprice.com for around $1.50 each in varying lengths

- If you do get a non-Palm usb cable, it will work, but you will need to break out some sandpaper to get it to fit in the TS. No worries...I have done that twice...and it's about a five minute job.

cheers,
    Steve
    Dang, cross post. You beat me
    Amazon.com: NEW OEM Palm Travel Charger for Pre Treo Pro 800w: Cell Phones & Service