1.    #1  
    All, I love my Treo 750 - and one thing that keeps me with the platform is the awesome bluetooth tethering. I'm a consultant, and I am frequently in areas where I need to get online away from wifi points which is awesome - all the more so in 3G areas. Bluetooth tethering is quite stable and reliable - much more reliable than the flaky USB connector.

Anyway - my question - here's the thing - I don't pay for AT&T's special "tethering" plan. I do pay 40 dollars/month for my data plan (iphone users you suck! - they have a 30 dollar plan - it used to be 20).

What limitations does my tethering plan have? download caps etc? (none observed yet). What would I gain if I pay for the more expensive plan?

Anyone have any ideas?
    From my understanding there isn't any difference in the tethering plan and the data plan for your 750 as far as caps. They know you will download more when connected to a pc versus just looking at items on i.e. via the 750 so they charge more. I'm doing the same as you with the tethering on my data plan and have not seen any increase in my bill either
    That is very strange as I often tether w/my Treo pro as well and I have not gotten extra-billed for doing so. I do not do it sutained altough, only like for 30mts or so just to play around w/my laptop when away from my home's wi-fi connection.
    Global Posts
    230 Global Posts
    Okay, here's a few facts. Unlimited data plans all connect you to the same internet. Lately AT&T is limiting the isp.cingular access point to those with tethering plans as a way to manage their bandwidth. The other data plans are now limited to the wap.cingular access point (which uses a proxy server and is often referred to as MediaNet). Legacy data plans do not have these restrictions.