Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Global Posts
    328 Global Posts
    First, let me say the hardware is fantastic. Looks great, sound quality is much better than the 650's, keyboard is easier to use, better camera, etc.

However, I'm *this* close to sending it back. Windows Mobile is without question the least user-friendly operating system I have *ever* encountered, and I've been messing with computers since 1978. If you could do something on the 650 with 1 or 2 button pushes, on WinMo it might take 6 or even 12. Here are some examples:

1) On the 650, I assigned Google Maps to the G key, so I could start it with one button push. On the Pro, it takes 6 steps: START-P-G-G-G-CENTER.

2) On the 650, in the calendar, if you moved off today, you could just press the CALENDAR button again and it would bring you back to today. In Pocket Outlook, pressing the CALENDAR button just cycles through the views, without bringing you back to today. Instead, it's MENU (soft key), G (for "Go To Today"). (And just try finding that "Menu" soft key when you're in a hurry and you don't have your glasses).

3) The 650 had ready-made emoticons in the SMS application. On the Pro, to make a smiley it takes 12 keys to make a smiley: ALT-CENTER-ALT-DOWN-DOWN-DOWN-DOWN-DOWN-DOWN-DOWN-CENTER-OPTION-U.

4) No easy way to make a new SMS. Instead of one or 2 presses, the sequence is MESSAGING-RIGHT-MENU-CENTER-S

5) I've played with 5 or 6 3rd party calendar apps but haven't yet found one that comes close to the simplicity and utility of Datebk on Palm.
    I haven't used the Pro, but I do know that WM itself is one reason why WM apps sell so well, LOL! Someone will probably give you app suggestions.

But before you go back to Palm OS, consider that WM can handle several apps open at a time, multi-tasking. Plus 3G voice and data + wifi on the Pro, which the 650 cannot provide.