Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    why does gpstoday list my address incorrectly? i live at 5828 and it is listing it as 5856. i'm new to gps but it thought it was a pretty exact thing.

also, does having this on my today page run my battery down?
    Quote Originally Posted by rustyosaurus View Post
    why does gpstoday list my address incorrectly? i live at 5828 and it is listing it as 5856. i'm new to gps but it thought it was a pretty exact thing.
    GPS can be accurate or not.

Under the settings, you can set the sensitivity. The more sensitive, the more accurate, but the longer time to fix.

The quicker the fix, the less accurate.

You gotta decide what you want.
    Well...

If it's on and live tracking you, then yes..it'll drain your battery.

If it's off and just sitting there as a today plugin, then no it's not draining your battery.

If you use the "quick fix" setting, then it'll drain your battery for about 10-20 seconds till it gets your position.

That whole "it's green!" "now it's red!" icon thing? Yeah, that tells you if you are on or off.

You skipped over the tutorial on the 1st launch, didn't you?

WMExperts: News, Reviews & Podcasts + Twitter
    Global Posts
    866 Global Posts
    GPS is fairly precise, however, it's not so much a problem with positioning as it is a problem with the map addressing that is used. I'm not sure what mapping service GPSToday uses (the two big companies are Navteq and TeleAtlas), but they are responsible for encoding addresses to specific geographic locations. Inevitably they mess up. My house has been here for 50+ years but these mapping programs still think I'm at a different address when I'm here - or when I plug in my address they think it's at the end of the street near the next intersection whereas I'm really in the middle of the block. I've just usually program my home address to be whatever the mapping program thinks it should be...
    Twitter: @dvdmon

4.    #4