Global Posts
    8 Global Posts
    My time keeps changing for some reason...
    it keeps on going ahead 3 hours...
    how do i fix it plz?
    Thanx
    Check your time zone and make sure it is right. Check to see if it changes occasionally depending on your location. Assuming you have the default setting of "get time zone from network", it could be a bad cell tower configuration.

Having said that, I have a story to tell about the above and a DST screwup.

I had done everything to update the DST issues on my PC, to include MS Outlook as well the OS. I had done everything to update my Treo with all the DST patches available. I am an IT consultant and have all the MS programs on disk for various OSs and MS Outlook and have done the same thing many times for my customer's networks.

Anyway... after syncing one day (just after the latest DST changeover at 2am Sunday the 9th of March) my appointments were 1 hour off. DAMN IT! I knew I had done everything right.

I finally traced it down to my local tower (from my home location where I usually sync). The tower was causing my phone to use "GMT-7 Arizona" rather than the proper "GMT-7 Mountain" time zone (where I live). ARIZONA DOES NOT HONOR DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME! This caused my appointments to get screwed up when syncing. Just to clarify, the PC and the Treo have to be set to the same time zone to avoid screwups.

Anyway, later, they fixed the tower and it now shows the proper GMT-7 Mountain time zone. But I had to manually FIX all my appointments affected by this. What a PITA!

Anyway... check your tower and time zone.

Note: If you travel, make sure your PC is set to the same time zone that the tower has set your phone to before syncing. Or... wait till you're back to your home area time zone to sync.

-Frank
    Last edited by Frankxs; 03/16/2008 at 03:18 PM.
    Global Posts
    8 Global Posts
    Hey Frank
    thanx for the reply and i greatly appreciate it ...